get it?


when we had our reunion in London, Chakoy introduced a few songs to me. the one that i liked most is ‘Details in the Fabric’ by Jason Mraz feat. James Morrison. It is super nice! it’s the kind of song that is really soothing, calming, and relaxing. if you are emo enough, just listening to it can make you cry, and if you are frustrated, it can make you untangle your problem slowly… i dont think that i am exaggerating, i have had a few others who agree with me on this. i did some research on the song, and the meaning behind the lyrics, and here’s my finding: some people think that the phone message at the beginning and at the end of the song was from Jason Mraz’s friend, Billy (Bushwalla) who broke up with his girlfriend, and was devastated by it. Jason then wrote this song to console Billy. It sounds pretty plausible for me, but whatever the truth is, I think that this song really got the ‘quality’ of some sort.

[Saved message:
Hey, what’s up? Uh…I lost… I just lost it.  It’s one of those days. I f***ing lost it. blew up f***ing my whole entire f***ing apartment
building. Told everyone to go f*** themselves.  I’m having a hard time hanging on today and uh, f*** it, I don’t know.]

Calm down
Deep breaths
And get yourself dressed instead
**even the first verse is somewhat really true, we have to be calm in
every situation, and this is the exact picture of us, dragging ourselves
out of bed every morning

Of running around
And pulling all your threads
And breaking yourself up
**be calm, instead of panicking, and doing more damage to ourselves physically and emotionally

If it’s a broken part, replace it 
If it’s a broken arm then brace it
If it’s a broken heart then face it
**if it’s anything else that’s wrong in the world, fix it, but if it’s a broken heart-caused by a lover, or anything else, you should face it. you should not let yourself be controlled, and affected by other people’s decisions. (my favourite part of the song)

And hold your own
Know your name
And go your own way
Hold your own
Know your own name
And go your own way
And everything will be fine
Everything will be fine
**no matter what the problem is, no matter what happens, you must get a hold of yourself, know yourself, don’t lose it, be sane, and rational. you might have to correct them your own way, just take your time, your own pace, and ‘everything will be fine’

Hang on
Help is on the way
Stay strong
I’m doing everything
**pretty much obvious here, if you need help, i’m always here, i’ll help, just stay strong

Hold your own
Know your name
And go your own way
Hold your own
Know your name
And go your own way

And everything, everything will be fine
Everything

All the details in the fabric
Are the things that make you panic
Are your thoughts results of static cling?
**you are paying too much attention to the little details in life, which are usually ignorable. and you are thinking about it at all time. you are ‘clinging’ to it. don’t just linger around on one problem. try to think of ways to solve it. thinking about it again and again will not help

Are the things that make you blow
Hell, no reason, go on and scream
If you’re shocked it’s just the fault
Of faulty manufacturing.
**these little details are the ones that will break you later on, they’ll make you ‘blow’ out of yourself. if you want to scream, go ahead, coz it will usually make u feel better. there’s nothing wrong with crying or screaming yourself out once in  a while. you might be frustrated about things, or ‘shocked’ about it, but just remember that it is not your fault, and there is no good reason of blaming yourself. just try to make the best of what life has dealt to you. if you cant, remember that its just maybe the wrong time, or place, wrong setting.

Yeah everything will be fine
Everything in no time at all
Everything

Hold your own
And know your name
And go your own way

Hold your own, know your name
(All the details in the fabric
Are the things that make you panic)
Go your own way
(Are your thoughts results of static cling?)

Hold your own, know your name
(All the details in the fabric
Are the things that make you panic)
Go your own way
(Is it Mother Nature’s sewing machine?)
**for all the things in life that do not go your way, take it as a challenge, or even fate, given to you by God, to test you through it

Hold your own, know your name
(Are the things that make you blow
Hell no reason go on and scream)
Go your own way
(If you’re shocked it’s just the fault
Of faulty manufacturing)

Everything will be fine
Everything in no time at all
Hearts will hold…

[New message:
Yo what’s up man? I uh, I don’t know i just wanted to say that uh, everything’s cool with me now, I mean i just think, I think I’ll always be funky, can’t stop being funky, but I guess we just deal with it how it comes, deal with the humps, take the jumps, I feel like you’re an island of reality in an ocean of diarrhea. And I love you buddy. Ok. Bye.]

deep eyh? these are just my thoughts.. those who know me will know that when i listen to songs, i DO look at the lyrics, and i’ll try my best to find the meaning behind it, linking it to my everyday life, etc… there are also some parts of my interpretations which was helped by other websites.

all i’m trying to say is that this song appeals to me a lot! it doesn’t really mean that much to my life, i do have other songs that i relate a lot with my life, but it does cover a fraction of my life – that little theme of self help.. i listen to this song everyday. it just makes me smile, especially the part where it says ‘everything will be fine’

ladies and gentlemen,
enjoy. 

  

video taken from youtube, and the lyrics might not be as accurate as what you might find on the net. but i tried my best.

This entry was published on February 1, 2010 at 11:34 pm and is filed under Music. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “get it?

  1. Zafirah on said:

    i like la this song! very much! lets learn guitar jom!! 😀

Leave a Reply

